WHAT WE DO

 

The Bureau of Lead Safety and Community Development administers the City’s major federal grant programs and supports the Department of Community Planning and Economic Development in building strong neighborhoods and elevating quality of life for all people who live, work, and play in the City of Lancaster. The Bureau promotes equitable and sustainable community development through delivering programs that facilitate safe and affordable housing options, improve the conditions of our built and natural environment, create economic opportunity and stability, reduce homelessness, and increase access to services for our most vulnerable residents.

 

The Bureau’s Office of Community Development is responsible for the administration of federal funds and requirements for the City’s Community Development Block Grant Program, the Emergency Solutions Grant Program, HOME, and State grants provided through DCED and the Commonwealth’s Redevelopment Assistance Capital Program. Through these programs, the City allocates millions of dollars to community priorities and organizations, with an emphasis on funding the preservation and production of safe and affordable housing, promoting neighborhood revitalization, and the prevention and mitigation of homelessness.

 

The Bureau’s Office of Lead Safety is responsible for the implementation of a five-year, $9.7 million grant from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development to eliminate lead in 710 low- and moderate-income homes. This team also manages the Critical Repair and Healthy Homes programs and often pairs lead remediation projects with other necessary repairs and home improvements such as roofs, furnaces, and sewer lines.

 

For more Information visit:

General Contact Info

Address

120 N. Duke St.
Lancaster, PA 17602

 

Office hours

Monday – Friday
8:30 a.m. – 5 p.m.

 

Phone

(717) 291-4730

 

Fax

(717) 291-4827

 

 



Who We Are
Documents & Resources
Who We Are
Brynn McGowan
Community Development Administrator
BMcGowan@cityoflancasterpa.com
Simone Dia
Community Development Administrator
sdia@cityoflancasterpa.com
Darren Parmer
Lead Program Manager
DParmer@cityoflancasterpa.com
Elyse Poy
Development Administrator
EPoy@cityoflancasterpa.com
Amarilis Torres
Lead Grant Coordinator/Enrollment Specialist
ATorres@cityoflancasterpa.com
Dean Wenrich
Lead Risk Assesor
DWenrich@cityoflancasterpa.com
Elaine Esch Lapp
Lead Risk Assesor
EEsch@cityoflancasterpa.com
Daniel Sosa
Outreach Worker
DSosa@cityoflancasterpa.com
Crystalyn Hawkes
Lead Clerk II
CHawkes@cityoflancasterpa.com
Julia Althouse
Lead Clerk II
JuAlthouse@cityoflancasterpa.com
Documents & Resources